Whither now….?

My short story collection, He Sees You When You’re Sleeping, is up and running.  Now what?  I guess I should be thinking of promoting it somehow.  Yet I happen to be the world’s worst saleswoman.  I am the opposite of pushy.  I know there are blogs out there that I should patronize, etc.  I’ll look into it now that I’ll have some free time but a big part of me really doesn’t want to try.

I imagine if I was a stall-keeper in a Phoenician market, I’d be the one in the back, with the unsold and rapidly deteriorating dates…I kind of envy those with sales panache.  Ah, well, you can’t easily change your essential nature.

And don’t mention Twitter.  I just don’t GET Twitter.  It reminds me of a room full of ADD- sufferers, all speaking at the same time, and no one listening.

ABOUT MY SHORT STORY COLLECTION:

I would say I wrote most of these stories in a year I took off from work once.  I was transitioning from one city to another and it seemed a natural time to give writing a concentrated whirl.  I was particularly interested in screenwriting because I am such a movie aficionado.  The short story “He Sees You When You’re Sleeping” started off in screenplay form.  I love the directness of movie scripts.  I also turned out a screenplay to 2:22 and Omega which are now in this collection.  I turned everything into prose when I realized that I wasn’t going to be able to market TV or movie scripts.

If I hadn’t had to go back to the grind of work, I can’t help but wonder if I would have 10 times the stories I now have.  I also became fascinated by the challenges of postcard fiction.  I’ve always clearly loved the short story – but postcard fiction was even more appealing.  I’ve got 9 such stories already written for my next collection entitled Matachewan.

And I leave you with an awesome little video from a Japanese horror series.    The look on the driver’s face at the very end says it all!:

http://youtu.be/_CEWg8ZTx-Q

Later,

Lisa

2 thoughts on “Whither now….?

  1. Major congrats on much anticipated release! We suck at self promotion too and would be joining you skulking in the back of the market stalls. However, you’ve given us amazing ideas on promotion so steal them for yourself!
    That video was creepy. Guessed the ending but it was still good.

Leave a Reply

